Championship play-off final 2022 Dates, kick-off times, TV schedule

Following an easing of restrictions in May 2021, the play-offs were able to take place in front of crowds of up to 20% of a stadium’s capacity. Each season, the two top-finishing teams in the Championship are automatically promoted to the Premier League. The teams that finish the season in 3rd to 6th place enter a playoff tournament, with the winner also gaining promotion to the Premier League.

Massive live games, how to watch free highlights, league tables, predictions and more. Championships in various sports, including rugby union and soccer use a league system in which all competitors in the league play each other, either once or a number of times. The term championships (in the plural) is often used to refer to tournament competitions, either using a knockout format, such as at Wimbledon and other championships in tennis, or a mixed format with a group stage followed by knockout rounds, such as used in the European Football Championships. The 2020–21 EFL Championship (referred to as the Sky Bet Championship for sponsorship reasons) was the 5th season of the EFL Championship under its current title and the 29th season under its current league division format.

Introduced for the 2004–05 season as the Football League Championship, the division is a rebrand of the former Football League First Division, which itself is a rebrand of the now-defunct Football League Second Division prior to the 1992 launch of the Premier League. The winning club of this division each season receives the EFL Championship trophy, which was the previous trophy awarded to the winners of the English top-flight prior to the launch of the Premier League. As with other divisions of professional English football, Welsh clubs can be part of this division, thus making it a cross-border league. In sports such as motor racing, a season consists of a number of individual races, with points being awarded for finishing in the top positions. At the end of the season, the driver/team with the most points wins the championship.

This succeeded a system of test matches and/or election of clubs that was used prior. Burnley and Norwich City have been promoted out of the Championship on four occasions, with five teams (Fulham, Hull City, Sheffield United, Watford, West Brom) having been promoted on three occasions. Rotherham United and Wigan Athletic have been relegated from the Championship on four occasions, with two teams (Barnsley and Charlton Athletic) having been relegated on three occasions. 14 teams have been both promoted out of and relegated from the Championship. Here is how you can watch Sky Bet Championship matches live across Sky Sports in December and January, as well as free match highlights throughout the season. Substitute Adam Idah scored a stoppage-time winner as Norwich came from behind to earn a 2-1 Championship victory over Bristol City at Ashton Gate.

The three lowest-finishing teams in the Championship are relegated to League One. This format is predominant in American sports such as baseball, ice hockey and basketball, and on test cricket. brings you all the details you need to know about the Championship play-offs including dates, kick-off times and how to watch the games live on TV.


In many sport leagues, a playoff system is used to determine a championship winner. Teams compete in a regular season of varying formats and a limited number of teams qualify for playoffs. Although this system is mostly identified with the United States and Canada, it is frequently found in other North American countries, and is also standard in sports influenced by North America (e.g. basketball, baseball, ice hockey) as well as most football codes other than soccer. The playoffs (known in some countries, notably Australia, as the “finals series”) are a tournament where teams play head-to-head in knockout competition. The championship is often considered the final of the playoffs (e.g., Super Bowl, Stanley Cup Finals, NBA Finals, World Series, etc.). The playoff system can be seen as a hybrid between the league system and tournament system, where a league is used to determine qualifiers for the tournament.

At the end of the season, the top two teams and the winner of the Championship play-offs are promoted to the Premier League and the bottom three teams are relegated to EFL League One. The Football League Championship play-offs is a knock-out competition for the teams finishing the season in third to sixth place with the winner being promoted to the Premier League. In the play-offs, the third-placed team plays against the sixth-placed team and the fourth-placed team plays against the fifth-placed team in two-legged semi-finals (home and away). The winners of each semi-final then compete in a single match at Wembley Stadium with the prize being promotion to the Premier League and the Championship play-off trophy. It was then announced that from Saturday, 19 December 2020 that Bedfordshire, Berkshire, and Buckinghamshire would also move into Tier 3, meaning for the EFL Championship that Luton Town, Reading & Wycombe Wanderers would also revert to playing behind closed doors without fans again, as of this date.

  • Wesley Hoedt’s stunning long-range winner maintained Watford’s promising run of form with a 2-1 victory at Hull.
  • It they do not secure their spot within this time-frame, their qualification will be reassigned to the next athlete in the rolldown.
  • If an athlete who has already qualified & registered for the World Championships qualifies again at another race, this qualification place will automatically be reassigned to the next ranking athlete in the roll-down.
  • The three lowest-finishing teams in the Championship are relegated to League One.

Promotion and relegation remained the same between the top division and the second (re-named the Football League First Division). In 1995 the EPL contracted to 20 clubs, relegating an extra two teams that season. After World War I, the Third Division was created (initially split into individual north and south leagues). A single, nationwide third tier was crafted and a Fourth Division was added.

The following 24 clubs will compete in the EFL Championship during the 2023–24 season. Plymouth’s homegrown midfielder Adam Randell scored a last-minute winner as Argyle came from behind to secure a 2-1 victory over Stoke at Home Park. Championship bottom club Sheffield Wednesday recorded just their second win of the season as they beat Blackburn 3-1 at Hillsborough.

In sport, a championship is a competition in which the aim is to decide which individual or team is the champion. Nottingham Forest boast a storied history but their grand achievements will feel mythical to the current generation of fans who haven’t tasted top flight football since 1999. Wesley Hoedt’s stunning long-range winner maintained Watford’s promising run of form with a 2-1 victory at Hull. Adam Armstrong’s double fired Southampton to a 2-0 victory over Cardiff and to Saints’ longest unbeaten run for 19 seasons. Leeds maintained their unbeaten home Championship record this season with a pulsating 3-2 win over 10-man Middlesbrough. Harry Winks scored a last-gasp winner as Leicester beat West Brom 2-1 to maintain their lead at the top of the Championship table.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Poser une question
💬 Besoin d'aide ?
Bonjour, c'est Kevin 👋
Comment puis-je vous aider ? Je répondrai à vos questions avec grand plaisir.